• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Shutdowns overlooked in childhood.

I'm still really new to this. I'm considering that I might be on the autism spectrum, but never diagnosed, like so many others I've been reading about and listening to online. It fits so well - so remarkably well, and I continue to have new insights into things that happened when I was a child that should have been red flags but were never considered as autism, likely because I had no overt cognitive or communication deficits. I'd just really like to share this with people who might understand.

I've been in therapy since I was five years old for "unknown" behavioral problems. Nothing was ever identified as a disorder, except that I had problems that kept me from functioning in school. Thinking on it today, a memory hit me that pointed to the possibility of autism, but nothing was ever done about it, except for giving me anti-anxiety medication like Xanax to calm me down during "episodes."