• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

New member here

BradT

Hi, my name is Brad, I'm 28 years old and I have aspergers syndeome. I go to college and I'm studying to be an accountant. My therapist said I have high functioning aspergers. The reason I was diagnosed with my aspergers is because of my low social skills. Because I have this disorder, I don't like socializing with anyone. I don't go out much, I only go to college and work out, it's the same routine everyday. I only have my family and extended family, I had friends in high school, but I don't talk to them much. I feel like I'm not liked for some reason, I don't know if it's in my head or the aspergers telling me this. Has anyone experienced or is experiencing what I'm going through or something similar?

Hi @BradT Welcome to Central
I think it's quite common for us on spectrum to feel detached or removed from other people a lot of the time, or at least not to feel "connections" easily.

Hi Brad, welcome.
Sounds like you are very high functionig and have the ability to connect a bit more than myself. I never had friends truly. I dated some after 25, but, it was always short lived and even though I felt in love with two of my relationships I didn't want to marry or change my lifestyle. My only true bonds were with my parents.

welcome.png

Welcome.