• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Audreyj

Hi everyone! I'm new to this because we only recently found out my boyfriend has a mild form of Asperger's. I always thought he just wasn't the type of guy- or because he didn't care enough about me to support me emotionally so it somehow feels like a relief to know he really can't help it. I'm trying my best to understand him and with help from a psychologist we're gonna try to find a way to make it work for the both of us.
Now although it's a relief and I do recognize a lot of what I'm reading and I'm starting to understand where he comes from, I also have a lot of questions and I was hoping someone here could help me out.
We started going to a psychologist (prior to the diagnose) because of relational problems due to an emotional affair he had with a coworker that had been going on for 3 years.
I've read the conversations and based on what I've read and because he got more distant towards me I felt he had simply fallen in love with this woman.
He however keeps on denying it as does his psychologist. She somehow can relate the conversations to Asperger's but I feel you can't blame everything on it.
I could make the story longer, because there is a lot to tell but I'll cut to the chase.