• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

scared of having autism

(I am undiagnosed, but fit many symptoms perfectly)

I'm EXTREMELY new to this, like didn't even consider having any form of autism until 24 hours ago. But a family member came to me and pointed out a lot of symptoms that I exhibit, and after thinking it over, I keep seeing more and more evidence in myself that it's true.

I'm 21 years old, a few months into a new job that I feel I'm actually going to keep for a bit. And I hope I'm on the verge of really starting my life. and I'm now terrified that I might be doomed to not live the life I want.

I've always had social issues, always talked a little differently, and never really have been able to keep a relationship with a significant other for long. Things I've always strived and hoped I could get better with and improve on. But now I feel like any hopes of improving in life is just gonna be halted.

My home is not accommodating for what's going on with me, outside of that one family member that mentioned something to me, I find my family to be fairly toxic and I'm terrified to mention anything to them.