• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Hi

vergil96

Hi everyone!

I'm Vergil, I'm 27 and from Europe, I'm a programmer. What am I doing here? My psychotherapist suggested that I could be on the autism spectrum and I'm looking into more detail about it, although from what I've read so far, I don't think it's ASD, but a bunch of other things that might look similar on the outside. I have some social difficulties, however, I rather think it has to do with unfavourable upbringing and poor boundary setting. I'm also a programmer and exceptionally gifted at math and other intellectual abilities and it tends to freak people out. I mean it: people are afraid. I did a lot o psychological tests for all kinds of mental health issues, because I struggle to find the right treatment and would really want to overcome my emotional difficulties, and found the tests Really Dumb (which is a whole separate story...) and my IQ apparently is above the scale for which the psychologist solemnly apologised that the test was so limited. The max of the scale was 130, I did everything correctly, so it's probably 140 or 150 (the likelihood of a given score decreases exponentially). I also think that having a bit of ADHD might contribute to some of the symptoms that the psychotherapist points to, like fidgeting. One way or another, I wo