• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Stress over job hunting

NyanbinaryNyahess

I’m a university student, and I didn’t take summer classes so I applied to several part time retail jobs. It’s frustrating how almost none of them ever called/contacted me back. And I was rejected by one, and I’ll see of the other calls me back or not within maybe 5 or so hours.

It’s eating away at me because while I don’t like being at home all the time, I just can’t help but be frustrated. I’m trying really hard, but my mom keeps saying it’s not enough and egging me. I get it—no one wants a freeloader, but I’m genuinely trying and I’m just tired of job hunting. I just hope that I get accepted because I want this hellish phase to all be over.

When you grow up in a house that constantly belittles you and makes you question your worth no matter what you do, you’d want to feel useful and helpful for once too…

I get that, its really frustrating. I've been in this situation as well (while I was not living at home anymore). You are doing great so far for applying to jobs, so dont try to blame it on yourself too much.
I hope you will receive better news about a job soon!