• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Hi. I'm an non-spectrum author - could you help me write better characters?

Niteowl001

I write character-based fiction of all sorts - suspense, romance, sci-fi. I'm not on the autism spectrum but I do cope with high-functioning anxiety. I wrote a short story recently with a character who really captivated me. I honestly don't know where this character came from but I'd like to write her more.

I had no conscious intention of writing a character who might be on the spectrum so I was really caught by surprise. Candidly, like most people, I've had little direct contact with people on the spectrum so after I wrote this story I became concerned about how authentic the character was. How much of my own ignorance and prejudice comes through versus a true representation of a realistic person?

As I mentioned, I enjoyed this story so much and the characters in it (both the young woman and the "normal" person that tries to understand her) that I want to write more about them. This first story is a short crime/romance vignette.