• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Failing to focus

DNC24

Is it common for autistic people to have a hard time focusing on things that require great attention?

As a musician, I have found that a majority of the time I'll sit down to practice and after 5-10 minutes I will be very tired and groggy, finding it almost impossible to stay awake and focus. This makes me agitated and depressed, and I can't continue.

Sound familiar?

It sounds like you're sleep-deprived. But at least you have a sure-fire way of getting some sleep--just sit down to practice!

ADHD is commonly co-morbid with Autism, up to 50-70%, according to commonly quoted statistics, so it could be worth getting screened for that, in case that's what's going on for you.

ADHD is commonly co-morbid with Autism, up to 50-70%, according to commonly quoted statistics, so it could be worth getting screened for that, in case that's what's going on for you.
So this sounds more like an ADHD symptom?

So this sounds more like an ADHD symptom?