• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Coping with being two-faced.

Roxy

I decided that I should be more sociable this year at work (I work in a school so we just started the new school year). Last year I ended up isolating myself which didn't feel good. I've made an effort to speak to people, ask after them etc.

The problem is, there are a few people I don't much care for. A couple of them are just plain annoying :S I've noticed that people are talking to me more, sitting with me in the staff room and generally more 'open' to me which is nice except I'm finding it really hard being what I'd call two-faced. I know it's my black and white thinking, and not everyone thinks that way - or do they? I'm confused. Are people talking to me while really not liking me? Oh jeez this is hard.

What I'm asking is, is it OK to chat with people and be friendly when really they wind you up and you find them annoying? Like, smiling to their faces while inwardly wishing they'd shut the heck up :mad:

If I were you I would work in an environment where social skills aren't required - it might end up driving you totally insane.