• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Dealing with Lack of Emotion

MrMagpie

To begin with, an introduction. I am a 23-year-old recent college graduate currently gainfully employed at a local Walmart to keep the school loan collectors from taking me to court for non-payment. I was recently and tentatively diagnosed by my therapist as having a case of highly functioning Asperger's Syndrome.

The diagnosis doesn't bother me one way or the other. My younger brother is also on the autism spectrum. Truthfully, I would rather have some answer to my ongoing issues than no answer at all. A diagnosis, at least, means I now have a spring board towards some form of treatment.

My primary issue is simply a lack of empathy for other people. I've always seen myself as the calm center the rest of the world rotates around. I was fine; Everyone else was the emotional wreck. I find it impossible to relate to events in any other way but logically, even in cases where I know I should have some sort of emotional response.