• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Why is my reading comprehension so bad?

googoochajoob

I'm a sophomore in high school and I can read the words, but I have no idea what they say. I've read whole books without knowing the plot. It really stinks in school. Does anyone else have this problem or have any solutions?

When I was what you'd call a freshman (15-16), I noticed that I would sometimes read a page without reading it, similar to what you describe. At the time I attributed it to daydreaming. Lately I've been thinking it was more akin to ADD.

I don't have much in the way of solutions, but often it helps to take breaks and do something else for a while, even if it is reading something else.

What about when you copy the words down by writing? I find this helps me slow down and focus on the words when reading isn't doing it for me.

I have done the same thing and I LOVE reading! My husband who is an NT cannot read, because when he does, he cannot get into the reading, whereas it only happens occasionally for me; and it is when our thoughts have zoned out of what we are reading and so I go back and read it again and sometimes, again and again and then the realisation hits me, that perhaps I need a break lol