• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Greetings from the USA

EstimatedProphet

Rising up to Paradise
I'm a late-40s author, attorney, business consultant, and dad (and Deadhead!) diagnosed with Asperger's/ASD. My diagnosis indicated a near-genius IQ, which I think explains how I was able to get along okay in life. But eventually I reached a near-suicidal level of burnout/depression from giving more and more effort to get less and less results every day. Seemingly in the nick of time I discovered what autism is all about and found the answer that eluded me for 40 years.

I've been diagnosed with anxiety, depression, social anxiety, ADHD, PTSD, all of that stuff. When I came to understand and accept I was autistic, in a manner of a day or two I felt physically different, and better. I had no idea of the stress I carried around every day dealing with the incongruities of life in a high-pressure professional setting.