• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Anyone work in social care/healthcare?

I'm curios if anyone with AS have a successful career in these areas, working with people? And what are the problems you face in everyday work (or when you started)?

About me:
I've been a freelance musician for some years (I'm 28), but I haven't found any special niche or stable gig, so music as career is too unstable for me at current circumstances (I also received official diagnosis of AS just recently). So now I'm trying to find a more suitable job. I'm really into psychology, health and helping people in general, especially children. I like the idea of working as a music therapist, music teacher or some other position in foster care service, hospitals etc. I've been thinking I'd do well with autistic children as I might understand them better somehow. I don't have issues with understanding people's emotions/intentions, I'm rather highly sensitive to them, I just have issues with expressing my own emotions and responding accurately in certain social situations. But I'm quite sure this skill can be trained (as I've trained many other skills needed for social interaction) and that I can get better if I work with people daily. My main AS related problems are adjusting with new situations and people, which almost always cause soci